My sympathy and good thoughts to all who have been in the path of the bad weather down south. *hugs you all*
On a lighter note, here are some more PotC4 posters, and if you go to the original article there are great big high rez versions.


I know that
djarum99 and
0nthe0therhand (among others, perhaps?) recently posted new OST videos, too, but LJ is not letting me access them to repost here at this time, wtf? Anyway, many interesting bits in those, well worth checking out. I have to say, the Jack/Angelica one makes me a little sad, J/E shipper that I've always been, both from comments within the video and from what I can see of Angelica's character and the relationship between her and Jack. I'm hoping there will be something to latch onto that will inspire, but I'm not really seeing it, so far. However, on May 7th (or 8th, really, we won't get back to our computers until after midnight, I'm sure) I'll be able to communicate further thoughts on this score (REDCARPETEVENTATDISNEYLANDOMG!!!!).
On a lighter note, here are some more PotC4 posters, and if you go to the original article there are great big high rez versions.
I know that
Tags:
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
I'm still debating about whether or not I want to go on the 7th. On the one hand, I remember all of the exhaustion and the heat and the crowds... and on the other I remember two of my Best Days Ever. We'll see how it goes.
Either way, I'm looking forward to hearing about YOUR take on things!
no subject
I know exactly what you mean. I think to get a good spot on Main Street you'll have to be in line all night, and then there's that long day of sitting on the curb to hold your spot, and then standing for about the last five hours of the event (with mobs of latecomers shoving from behind, too). I certainly don't regret going, the AWE red carpet was a lot of fun in so many ways and the DMC one was even better, but if I hadn't been able to buy a ticket and actually walk the carpet and go see the movie I wouldn't have gone this time.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
I do love mermaids!
no subject
no subject
no subject
Well, yeah, and what the heck was Elizabeth supposed to be, even in canon? Duh.
I do think the movie will be really fun, it's just that I'm a sucker for romance and Angelica may not have enough depth or soft edges to make that possible in the sort of way I'd be inclined to explore. But we'll see. In any case I'm getting more excited about the mermaid thing, love these new posters!!!
no subject
My point of view exactly. I love Mystery!Jack. And for Anamaria - I'd love to see her again, I feel it's unfair she disappeared with not a word of explanation, but on the other hand I fear what could the canon do with her... All in all - more well written Anamaria fics, more happy me. :)
no subject
no subject
Aw & I have to say I am glad that I'm not the only one feeling sad over the Jack/Angelica featurette (that I haven't even watched, actually LOL)
I'm so happy for you about the red carpet event! :D This is going to be so awesome! ♥
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
In other news, I'm almost done with Ch. 3 -- may send it a little later. :)
ETA: It seemed to me that Rush was saying something they maybe suggested he say. I'm hoping that whoever had the idea wasn't thinking clearly.
no subject
Elizabeth and Jack were certainly "peas in a pod" as well, but Elizabeth was not a pirate in the first movie, and arguably never entirely or only one even in the others. And since canon pairs Will and Elizabeth, Rush can be forgiven for not linking Jack with Elizabeth as a couple.
Anamaria was a pirate and certainly capable of holding her own with Jack, but she was a very different character--definitely not from the same pod or cloth--and her relationship with Jack was very peripheral.
So much of our perceptions of PotC characters have been formed by fandom that it does sometimes seem strange that everyone doesn't know about it.
I interpreted Rush's comment to mean that Angelica is to be like Jack--devious and clever and thinking circles around others and charming and mouthy and beautiful (and knows it) and secretive and capable of treachery and manipulative and lucky in everything but love and a good person at heart, perhaps inconveniently so. Also she shares a past with Jack and is nearer his age than any of the other PotC leading ladies. His match. I actually really enjoyed the snark in the J/A clip--but then snark is my meat :D
no subject
I agree that it may not have been something he even thought about. On the other hand, I think a large part of canon points to Elizabeth's pirate heart, and it's evident even in the first movie, in spite of her antecedents.
As far as OST being a return to the spirit of the first movie, I think the-powers-that-be proved with DMC and AWE that they didn't get at all what made CotBP so much fun for everyone. I'm hopeful that Jack/Angelica will be a fun pairing, though, at least for the duration of OST, and I'm really looking forward to the bits filmed in England, too.
no subject
no subject
no subject
With this I agree. And the same bothers me as to Syrena & Philip. I do want to like them, cause I think there is potential in their characters and story, but this still can misfire. Well, we'll see.
I am only one of many who long for more of Crossing
Definitely. :)
no subject
And I'm all for snark too, the more the better, if it's between characters I like. Unfortunately, I've never really liked Penélope Cruz, so I find it hard to muster any excitement over Angelica. I might change my mind after having seen the whole movie, of course. Or not.
no subject
I find the bits of trailer with her and Jack very interesting, but I'm not sure how that'll pan out in the movie. For me it depends on the script they're working with, and what kind of character she ultimately turns out to be. (And in a week, we'll know!!!!)
no subject
I love the snark between Angelica and Jack that has been revealed so far, and of course there's a long line of love interest from Jack's past, at least in my head. And of course I'm a dyed in the wool J/E shipper - I've got the fandom scars to prove it. I do have mixed feelings about the Jack/Angelica interactions, but I suspect I'll enjoy them anyway, simply because they fit, in a handwavy sort of fashion, with my own fanon. It won't interfere with my POTC universe, if that makes any sense (I just had oral surgery, and Percocet! for the first time. I'm a little muzzy). I can understand the apprehension, though.
But, there's piratey!fierce!conniving!Jack in there! And Barbossa, and Gibbs, and Ian McShane as Blackbeard. I hope everyone can take heart, and take themselves off to the theater with high hopes.
Have a fabulous pre-birthday celebration at the premiere! I'm so happy for you ♥
no subject
Sympathy on the oral surgery, hope you feel better very very soon.
no subject
no subject
This is true, and I'm really happy that they've thrown that element into the movie. It'll be fun to see what they do with it, though hopefully they'll do it without tearing down previous canon.